Featured News / August 11th, 2017

Taipans headed to Traralgon

The CQUniversity Cairns Taipans will face New Zealand, Illawarra and Brisbane in the NBL’s rejuvenated Blitz tournament, to be held in Traralgon next month.

The Victorian Government has partnered with the NBL to bring the games to the region.

Players from each of the eight NBL clubs will attend the Blitz, which leads in to the start of the NBL season on October 5.

They will play eight matches at Traralgon Sports Stadium between September 7 and 9, and will participate in a range of community activities including clinics and school visits around the region.

There will also be wheelchair basketball games played during half time of NBL games.

NBL Chief Executive Jeremy Loeliger thanked the Victorian Government for its support.

“This is an exciting time for the NBL and we are excited about the opportunity to host the Blitz in the Latrobe Valley,” he said. 

“This is a great way to showcase the League to regional Victoria but also engage with local communities ahead of the start of our 40th anniversary season in October.”

Member for Eastern Victoria Region Ms Harriet Shing MP said:

“These additional major sporting events in Gippsland will boost the visitor economy, build pride in our communities and drive the growing sense of momentum and excitement about all our region has to offer.”

“Communities, clubs, schools and teams are all helping to shape this record investment in sporting facilities, events and programs across the Latrobe Valley region, and the benefits for our health, economic growth and local pride are enormous.”


Traralgon Basketball Centre

Melbourne United v Illawarra Hawks, September 7, 5.30pm
Cairns Taipans v New Zealand, September 7, 8pm
Perth Wildcats v Adelaide 36ers, September 8, 5.30pm
Sydney Kings v Brisbane Bullets, September 8, 8pm
Cairns Taipans v Illawarra Hawks, September 9, 11.30am
Brisbane Bullets v Adelaide 36ers, September 9 2pm
Melbourne United v Sydney Kings, September 9, 5pm
Perth Wildcats v New Zealand Breakers, September 9, 7.30pm

There will also be four games in Melbourne on Sunday, September 10.
All games will start at 2pm.

Melbourne United v Perth Wildcats, State Basketball Centre
Sydney Kings v Illawarra Hawks, Kilsyth Basketball Stadium
Cairns Taipans v Brisbane Bullets, Werribee Basketball Stadium (Eagle Stadium)
New Zealand Breakers v Adelaide 36ers, Mill Park Basketball Stadium

Tickets for games can be purchased at www.nbl.com.au/blitz.